14.5 C
Thursday, February 2, 2023
Home Travel Panch Kedar Trek

Panch Kedar Trek


Duration : 17 Days (Actual trekking 12 days) Max.

Altitude : 3584 Mts

Grade : Moderate

Season: May � November

The five Kedar lies in the valleys between the rivers Bhagirathi and Alaknanda. The term Kedar itself means a natural rock formation or a glacial moraine. According to legend, Himalayas Kedarnath, the chief seat of the Panch Kedar, come into being during the period when the five Pandava brothers were asked to seek Shiva’s blessings, purging them off sin of fratricide, or killing their cousin brothers in the terrifying battle of Kurukshetra. Shiva disguised himself as a bull and started to plunge underground when he was spotted by Pandavas. No wonder the natural rock formation that is worshipped here resembles the rump of bull. The other four places where Shiva is worshipped take their appearance from different part of his body – the navel at Madmaheshwar, the arm at Tungnath, the face at Rudranath, and the matted hair at Kalpeshwar. 1. Kedarnath 2. Madmaheshwar 3. Tungnath 4. Rudranath 5. Kalpeshwar Panch Kedar comprises of five Kedars Kedarnath, Rudranath, Tungnath, Madyamaheshwar and Kalpeshwar. These temples are built in ancient times by Pandvas to please Lord Shiva. In these Five Kedars Lord Shiva is worshipped in five divine forms. Like his hump is worshipped in Kedarnath, the arms in Tunganath, the nabhi (navel) and stomach in Madhyamaheshwar, the face at Rudranath and the hair and the head in Kalpeshwar as Lord Shiva disappeared in a form of a bull and reappeared at five different places of Panch Kedars.